Scott Breen joins The Recycling Partnership’s board

Top leaders in sustainability, industry, and the circular economy were elected to The Recycling Partnership’s Board of Directors, supporting The Partnership’s mission.

The Board will guide and support The Partnership’s strategic plan and build on the organisation’s mission, transforming US residential recycling and advancing the circular economy.

Since 2014, The Partnership has diverted over 770 million pounds of new recyclables from landfills, avoided more than 670,000 metric tons of greenhouse gases, and driven significant reductions in targeted contamination rates.

In addition, The Partnership has delivered millions of curbside carts to homes, reached more than 100 million households, reduced carbon emissions in the environment, and developed innovation to transform system infrastructure and create more circular packaging. 

“When companies make commitments to reduce waste, improve recycling, and advance the circular economy, it’s our job to insist and assist. That means we hold companies accountable for their commitments, but we also help them deliver the best return on investment of time and money,” said Keefe Harrison, CEO of The Recycling Partnership.

“Our Board is comprised of industry leading sustainability and recycling advocacy experts from leading companies across the value chain who are committed to transforming US recycling and enhancing a circular economy.” 

Seven industry leaders were recently elected to serve on The Recycling Partnership’s board of directors. The newly elected directors include Holli Alexander (strategic initiatives manager, sustainability, Eastman); Meghan Altman (environmental impact lead, Danone North America); Scott Breen (VP of sustainabilityCan Manufacturers Institute); Gary McElyea (head of North America public policy centre, The Coca-Cola Company); and Stephanie Potter (head of sustainability, corporate & government affairs, Nestlé USA).

Also, re-elected for an additional term were Megan Daum (VP of sustainability, American Beverage Association) and Scott Hemink (ITQ director of packaging, General Mills).   

These directors join current Board members Steve Alexander (president and CEO, Association of Plastic Recyclers); Sara Axelrod (director of sustainability, Ball Corporation); David Clark (VP of sustainability, Amcor); Diego Donoso (president, packaging & specialty plastics, Dow); Robert Flores (VP of sustainability, Berry Global);  Anitra Marsh (VP, global sustainability, citisenship and communications, Procter & Gamble Beauty); Monique Oxender (chief sustainability officer, Keurig Dr Pepper); and Robin Wiener (president, Institute of Scrap Recycling Industries). 

At the June Board of Directors meeting, the following officers were elected:   

  • Chair – Monique Oxender (Keurig Dr Pepper) 
  • Vice chair – Stephanie Potter (Nestlé USA) 
  • Vice chair – Gary McElyea (The Coca-Cola Company)  
  • Treasurer – Steve Alexander (Association of Plastic Recyclers)  
  • Secretary – Sara Axelrod (Ball Corporation) 

“As the U.S. makes the critical shift toward a circular economy, there is opportunity to significantly improve recycling through The Partnership’s cross-sector collaborations. Companies are amplifying both dollars and action by investing in solutions that accelerate change, reflecting an action-oriented focus that The Recycling Partnership can uniquely deliver,” said newly elected chair Monique Oxender, chief sustainability officer, Keurig Dr Pepper.   

The Recycling Partnership fosters relationships across the entire recycling value chain to connect needs to solutions, build robust data-driven tools, engage policymakers, and communicate with stakeholders to accelerate change.

The Partnership works with communities across the country to improve recycling, supports companies as they improve packaging to support climate and sustainability goals, and engages with policy makers to address the systemic needs of the US residential recycling system. 

For more information on The Recycling Partnership’s Board of Directors, visit:

Lost Password